GRD Drive Academy

Announcing Granville Recreation District’s newest program offering, GRD Drive Academy

Are you a student who is 15 years and 5 months old who is ready to take driver’s education? If you answered yes, we have the opportunity for you. Students now have a convenient way to take driver’s education! NOTE: This program is ONLY open to Granville School District Residents.

The Granville Recreation District is now offering driver’s education through our GRD Drive Academy. We recently received our Ohio Department of Public Safety Licensing and are now in the process of hiring and training instructors. We are excited to partner with the Granville Schools and offer driver’s education to the Granville High School students conveniently during their school day starting in the Fall of 2022. In the meantime, we are going to start offering driver’s education 3 days/week, 5:30-9:45PM (total of 6 days for completion of their in-classroom part) beginning February 1, 2022. We will also be offering a 24 hr in-classroom session each month this summer.

CURRENT OFFERINGS

June Session: Driver’s Education In-Classroom / Behind-The-Wheel
Age Requirement: Must be 15 yrs 5 mo Old on the first day of class

Fee: $500 (price includes student’s 8 hrs of Behind-The-Wheel Training)
NOTE: This program is ONLY open to Granville School District Residents.

COURSE DATES/TIMES:
M June 6, 2022 | Class Day #1
Tu June 7, 2022 | Class Day #2
W June 8, 2022 | Class Day #3
M June 13, 2022 | Class Day #4
Tu June 14, 2022 | Class Day #5
W June 15, 2022 | Class Day #6
9:00AM-1:15PM Each Day @ GHS Rm 211

REGISTRATION DEADLINE: 5/30/2022

July Session: Driver’s Education In-Classroom / Behind-The-Wheel
Age Requirement: Must be 15 yrs 5 mo Old on the first day of class

Fee: $500 (price includes student’s 8 hrs of Behind-The-Wheel Training)

COURSE DATES/TIMES:
Tu July 5, 2022 | Class Day #1
W July 6, 2022 | Class Day #2
Th July 7, 2022 | Class Day #3
M July 11, 2022 | Class Day #4
Tu July 12, 2022 | Class Day #5
W July 13, 2022 | Class Day #6
9:00AM-1:15PM Each Day @ GHS Rm 211

REGISTRATION DEADLINE: 6/28/2022

FOCUS:
To provide teens the opportunity to receive the driver’s education training required by the State of Ohio to obtain a State Of Ohio Drivers License.

STATE OF OHIO REQUIREMENT:
The State of Ohio requirement for teen driver’s education includes completing 24 hours of traditional in-person classroom, plus the completion of 8 hours of in-vehicle training. STUDENTS MUST COMPLETE Driver’s Ed (classroom and in-vehicle) within 6 months of starting, otherwise student must pay again and start course over.

AGE REQUIREMENTS:
Teens may start their classroom training with us at 15 years and 5 months of age. Teens may test for their learners permit at 15 years and 6 months of age.

BEHIND-THE-WHEEL SCHEDULE:
Students will call the GRD Office, 740-587-1976 to schedule their 2 hr drives once they finish their 24 hr in-classroom instruction and receive their certificate of completion.

August Session: Driver’s Education In-Classroom / Behind-The-Wheel
Age Requirement: Must be 15 yrs 5 mo Old on the first day of class

Fee: $500 (price includes student’s 8 hrs of Behind-The-Wheel Training)

COURSE DATES/TIMES:
Tu August 2, 2022 | Class Day #1
W August 3, 2022 | Class Day #2
Th August 4, 2022 | Class Day #3
Tu August 9, 2022 | Class Day #4
W August 10, 2022 | Class Day #5
Th August 11, 2022 | Class Day #6
9:00AM-1:15PM Each Day @ GHS Rm 211

REGISTRATION DEADLINE: 7/26/2022

FOCUS:
To provide teens the opportunity to receive the driver’s education training required by the State of Ohio to obtain a State Of Ohio Drivers License.

STATE OF OHIO REQUIREMENT:
The State of Ohio requirement for teen driver’s education includes completing 24 hours of traditional in-person classroom, plus the completion of 8 hours of in-vehicle training. STUDENTS MUST COMPLETE Driver’s Ed (classroom and in-vehicle) within 6 months of starting, otherwise student must pay again and start course over.

AGE REQUIREMENTS:
Teens may start their classroom training with us at 15 years and 5 months of age. Teens may test for their learners permit at 15 years and 6 months of age.

BEHIND-THE-WHEEL SCHEDULE:
Students will call the GRD Office, 740-587-1976 to schedule their 2 hr drives once they finish their 24 hr in-classroom instruction and receive their certificate of completion.

8 Hrs of Behind-The-Wheel Training (ONLY)
Fee: $475
NOTE: This program is ONLY open to Granville School District Residents.
We will need students who ONLY want to take their 8 hrs of Behind-The-Wheel Training on a limited basis until we have all instructors certified. We hope to open Behind-The-Wheel Training for registration beginning in April. For now if you are a student who has their 24 hrs of online-classroom instruction done and their certificate of completion. Please call the GRD Office to check on available drive times (vary limited until April 1, 2022).

FOCUS:
To provide teens the opportunity to receive the driver’s education training required by the State of Ohio to obtain a State Of Ohio Drivers License. Students will practice their driving skills one-on-one with the GRD Drive Instructor.

STATE OF OHIO REQUIREMENT:
The State of Ohio requirement for teen driver’s education includes completing 24 hours of online classroom in-person classroom, plus the completion of 8 hours of in-vehicle. STUDENTS MUST COMPLETE Driver’s Ed (classroom and in-vehicle) within 6 months of starting, otherwise student must pay again and start course over.

REQUIREMENTS:
Teens may schedule their in-car training with us once the student has completed all 24 hours of online classroom instruction, have their Certificate of Completion from another provider and valid permit.

BEHIND-THE-WHEEL SCHEDULE:
Students will call the GRD Office, 740-587-1976 to schedule their 2 hr drives once they finish their 24 hr in-classroom instruction and receive their certificate of completionwithin 6 months of starting (otherwise student must pay again and start course over).

We look forward in providing Behind-The-Wheel Instruction continuously. Once we have Licensed Instructors we will open registration online and you can begin calling the GRD to set-up your students driving schedule.

ITEMS NEEDED:
• 24 hrs of online classroom Certificate of Completion
(must be dropped off to the GRD office, M-F, 8:30AM-4:30PM before first scheduled drive).
• Valid Permit (required for each drive)
• Students must wear closed toed shoes, NO flip flops

If interested, sign-up for the In-Class/In-Car option on the Granville Recreation District site (here).

Please Note: The GRD has moved to a new online registration system as of January 1, 2022. All users must create a new household account.

Questions call the GRD office, 740-587-1976.


FUTURE OFFERINGS: FALL 2022

OPTION 1

IN-CLASSROOM DRIVER EDUCATION / BEHIND-THE-WHEEL INSTRUCTION
NOTE: This program is ONLY open to Granville School District Residents.
Will be held during 6th, 7th & 8th period Study Halls (3/wk for a total of 33 classes) @ the Granville High School Rm 211. Behind-The-Wheel Training (can be scheduled once all 24 hrs of in-classroom training has taken place) after school hours and the weekend. This allows GHS Students to have 2 Days/Week of regular study hall.

FOCUS:
To provide teens the opportunity to receive the driver’s education training required by the State of Ohio to obtain a State Of Ohio Drivers License.

STATE OF OHIO REQUIREMENT:
The State of Ohio requirement for teen driver’s education includes completing 24 hours of traditional in-person classroom, plus the completion of 8 hours of in-vehicle training. STUDENTS MUST COMPLETE Driver’s Ed (classroom and in-vehicle) within 6 months of starting, otherwise student must pay again and start course over.

AGE REQUIREMENTS:
Teens may start their classroom training with us at 15 years and 5 months of age. Teens may test for their learners permit at 15 years and 6 months of age.

We look forward in providing additional class offerings this coming summer and next fall. Once details are confirmed we will have the information up for registration.

COURSE DATES:
2022 Fall Semester
Dates TBA
33 Classes (24 hrs classroom instruction)
(With 4-6 Make Up Class Dates TBA during students study hall)

IN-CLASS SCHEDULE:
In order to register for this class the enrollee must have a study hall either 6th, 7th or 8th period at the Granville High School. Class held M/W/F in GHS Room 211.

BEHIND-THE-WHEEL SCHEDULE:
Students will call the GRD Office, 740-587-1976 to schedule their 2 hr drives once they finish their 24 hr in-classroom instruction and receive their certificate of completion.

OPTION 2

BEHIND-THE-WHEEL INSTRUCTION (ONLY)
NOTE: This program is ONLY open to Granville School District Residents.

We will soon offer the following enrollment option for Teen Students:
• 8 hrs of Behind-The-Wheel Training (only)

Once enrolled please call Lara Benschoter at the GRD office (740.587.1976) to schedule your in-car training sessions.

FOCUS:
To provide teens the opportunity to receive the driver’s education training required by the State of Ohio to obtain a State Of Ohio Drivers License. Students will practice their driving skills one-on-one with the GRD Drive Instructor.

STATE OF OHIO REQUIREMENT:
The State of Ohio requirement for teen driver’s education includes completing 24 hours of online classroom in-person classroom, plus the completion of 8 hours of in-vehicle. STUDENTS MUST COMPLETE Driver’s Ed (classroom and in-vehicle) within 6 months of starting, otherwise student must pay again and start course over.

REQUIREMENTS:
Teens may schedule their in-car training with us once the student has completed all 24 hours of online classroom instruction, have their Certificate of Completion from another provider and valid permit.

BEHIND-THE-WHEEL SCHEDULE:
Students will call the GRD Office, 740-587-1976 to schedule their 2 hr drives once they finish their 24 hr in-classroom instruction and receive their certificate of completionwithin 6 months of starting (otherwise student must pay again and start course over).

We look forward in providing Behind-The-Wheel Instruction continuously. Once we have Licensed Instructors we will open registration online and you can begin calling the GRD to set-up your students driving schedule.

ITEMS NEEDED:
• 24 hrs of online classroom Certificate of Completion
(must be dropped off to the GRD office, M-F, 8:30AM-4:30PM before first scheduled drive).
• Valid Permit (required for each drive)
• Students must wear closed toed shoes, NO flip flops